UpHere Logo

You've got a story. Write it down.

Illustration by Beth Covvey

The Sally Manning Award for Indigenous creative non-fiction is here again. Presented in partnership with the Yellowknife Community Foundation, this award is dedicated to helping strong indigenous voices tell their own stories about the North: its land and people. The award is given in honour of Sally Manning, a writer, teacher and lover of the North with the aim of fostering the talent of new writers.

Winner of the 2016 Sally Manning Award was Yellowknife's Tanya Roach, for her piece Larga Love. The 2015, inaugural award winner was Adina Tarralik Duffy with Don't Cry Over Spilled Beads.

Photo by Hannah EdenCongratulations Tanya, and good luck to this year's entries.


The contest is open to people of First Nation, Inuit and Metis descent, currently or formerly residing in the Yukon, NWT, Nunavut, Nunavik or Labrador.

Entries should feature a Northern theme and run from 1,000 to 2,500 words in length. This contest is open only to emerging writers and all entries should include a 50-word bio on a separate page. Only one submission will be accepted from each writer, per year.

Winners will be selected by a panel of jurors, to be named at a later date.

First prize: $1,000 and publication in an issue of Up Here magazine

Second prize: $500

Third prize: $250

Submission deadline: December 31, 2017.

Please send entries to sallymanningaward@uphere.ca, or mail them to:

The Sally Manning Awards
c/o Up Here magazine
Suite 800
4920-52nd Street
Yellowknife, NT X1A 3T1