Site Banner Ads

Sally Manning Award


Presented in partnership with the Yellowknife Community Foundation, Sally Manning Award for Indigenous creative non-fiction is dedicated to helping strong Indigenous voices tell their own stories about the North: its land and people. The award is given in honour of Sally Manning, a writer, teacher and lover of the North with the aim of fostering the talent of new writers.

The 2019 winner was Peter Igupttaq Autut for his story, Winter in Chesterfield Inlet. Previous winners include Cullen Crozier for The Duck Caller, Inuvik's Dennis Allen for his piece Timothy, Yellowknife's Tanya Roach for her piece Larga Love, and the inaugural award winner, Tarralik Duffy for Don't Cry Over Spilled Beads.

The contest is free and open to emerging First Nation, Inuit, and Metis writers currently or formerly residing in the Yukon, NWT, Nunavut, Nunavik, or Labrador.

Entries should feature a northern theme and run from 1,000 to 2,500 words in length. This contest is open only to emerging writers and all entries should include a 50-word bio on a separate page. Only one submission will be accepted from each writer, per year.

Winners will be selected by a panel of jurors, to be named at a later date.

First prize: $1,000 and publication in an issue of Up Here magazine
Second prize: $500
Third prize: $250
Submission deadline: January 31, 2023


Please send entries to, or mail them to:

The Sally Manning Awards
c/o Up Here magazine
Suite 102
4510-50th Avenue
Yellowknife, NT X1A 1B9